2020 Harvard English Department Critical Essay & Creative Writing Prize Winners

May 22, 2020

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the English Depatment's Critical & Creative Writing Prizes. Congratulations to all of the winners and thank you to everyone who participated!


Critical Essay Prizes:

Boston Ruskin Prize                                                               

Samuel Diener            Riddling Subjects: The Inventory Poem in the Work of Jonathan Swift

Thomas Casalaspi       Waldo and Julian: An Experiment in Transhistorical Criticism


Helen Choate Bell Prize (Essay)                    

Tess McNulty              George Saunders and the Uplifting Anecdote                                   


Winthrop Sargent Prize                                                                                

Thomas Casalaspi       Refusing Critical Exorcism: The Case of Grigori Kozintsev’s Hamlet

Thomas Dolinger        “They that have the power to hurt”: Shakespeare’s Poetics of Pain


William Harris Arnold and Gertrude Weld Arnold Prize    

Bailey Sincox               Charles Eliot Norton, Collector: The Spirit of Dickens’ Public Readings


Creative Writing Prizes:

Academy of American Poets Prize               

Letitia Chan, “Survival as Aesthetic Matter”


Joan Gray Untermyer Poetry Prize              

Ashley Gong, “Non-Counterfactual of the Self”


Lloyd McKim Garrison Prize        

Sarah Toomey


Roger Conant Hatch Prizes for Lyric Poetry

Thomas Mahon


Edward Eager Memorial Fund Prizes


  1. Patricia Liu
  2. Roey Leonardi
  3. Alisha Yi
  4. Joseph Felkers
  5. Alex Cohen
  6. Letitia Chan


  1. Elliot Thornton
  2. Meena Venkataramanan
  3. Caroline Tsai


Cyrilly Abels Short Story Prize         

1st place: Jensen Davis, “With Jeremy Kofman”

2nd Place:  Youmna Chamieh, “Silence of the Rats”


Charles Edmund Horman Prize       

 Sophia Mautz (Poetry)    

 Jude Okonkwo (Prose) 


Harvard Monthly Prize         

Margaret Kirn

Anisa Ahmed


Le Baron Russell Briggs Fiction Award

 Sabrina Li, “Grief Song” 


The Thomas Wood Award in Journalism  

Anna Correll   


The Lee Patrick Award in Drama

Skylar-Bree Takyi