2016-17 Prize Recipients - 7. 18. 17

2016-17 Prize Recipients

The Department of English is thrilled to announce this year’s prize recipients!

Critical Prizes

Boston Ruskin Prize

1st Place: Michael Allen
for “Trauma Theory and the Problem of Interpretation: Archeological Reconstruction in Sigmund Freud and W.G. Sebald”

2nd Place: Carly Yingst

for “‘Like looking into a bowl of quicksilver shaken': Repetition and Expansion in Gerard Manley Hopkins’s ‘The Leaden Echo and the Golden Echo’ and ‘Binsey Poplars'”

Helen Choate Bell Prize (Essay)

Evander Price
for “Fact and Fiction: How Fitzgerald Still Haunts Flushing”

Winthrop Sargent Prize

Allegra Caldera, ’17
for “Extemporal Gods of Rhyme? Commedia dell’Arte in Love’s Labour’s Lost

William Harris Arnold and Gertrude Weld Arnold Prize

“Accumulation & Anthology: The Spirit of Book Collecting”

Boylston Prize for Elocution

1st Place: Chloe Brooks, ’19

2nd Place: Lucas Giveen ’18

Dissertation Prizes

Helen Choate Bell Dissertation Prize

Adam Scheffler
for his dissertation “‘My Life is Only One Life': Turning to Other People in American Lyric Poetry After New Criticism”

Howard Mumford Jones Prize

Stephen Tardif

for his dissertation “The Practice of Form: Arts of Life in Victorian Literature”

Creative Prizes

Academy of American Poets Prize

Josh Ascherman, ’17

Joan Gray Untermyer Poetry Prize

Joanne Koong, ’17

Lloyd McKim Garrison Prize

Josh Ascherman, ’17
for “Lapis Lazuli”

Roger Conant Hatch Prizes for Lyric Poetry

Emeline Atwood, ’18
for “Cab Driver”

Edward Eager Memorial Fund Prize

1. Nica Franklin, ’18
2. Sarah Toomey, ’19
3. Daniella M. Muhleisen, ’19

1. “A Night Out,” by Samantha Neville, ’19
2. “The Night of Power,” by Aisha Bhoori, ’18
3. “The Wanderer,” by Emeline Atwood, ’18

Cyrilly Abels Short Story Prize

1st Place: Mia Gussen, ’17
for “Coral”

2nd Place: Skylar-Bree Tayki, ’20
for “Be Nice”

Charles Edmund Horman Prize

Poetry: George Qiao, ’18
Fiction: Michelle Raji, ’18

Harvard Monthy Prize

Aisha Bhoori, ’18
Sean Satterthwaite, ’17

Le Baron Russell Briggs Fiction Award

Matthew Vegari, ’17
for “Don’t Go To Strangers”