Graduate Students

Michael Allen
Michael Allen

michaelpatrickallen@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th C. British

Amanda Auerbach
Amanda Auerbach
Trisha Urmi Banerjee
Trisha Urmi Banerjee

tbanerj@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th-century British novel; narrative theory; economics; the body

Sam Berstler
Sam Berstler

sberstl@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Old English, Old Norse

Phoebe Braithwaite
Phoebe Braithwaite

phoebebraithwaite@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th and 20th century British poetry and criticism

Donald Brown
Donald Brown

donald_brown@g.harvard.edu

Interests: African American Literature, Multiethnic Literature of the U.S., 20th C. American, Transnational Anglophone/Postcolonial

Olivia Carpenter
Olivia Carpenter

olivia_carpenter@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 18th C. British/Enlightenment, Transnational Anglophone/Postcolonial, History of the Book, Gender Studies

Alison Chapman
Alison Chapman
Aparna Chaudhuri
Aparna Chaudhuri

aparnachaudhuri@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Medieval

Alex Creighton
Alex Creighton

acreighton01@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 18th Century British literature; the Novel; Music and Literature; Theory (Aesthetic, Narrative, Cultural, Gender/Sexuality)

Maria Devlin
Maria Devlin

mariadevlin@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; Spenser; rhetoric; genre; Aristotle; virtue ethics; philosophy

Website

Samuel Diener
Samuel Diener

sdiener@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 18th Century British and American; Postcolonial Theory; Gender Studies; Travel/Exploration Narrative

Website

Thomas Dolinger
Thomas Dolinger

dolinger@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Poetry

Andy Donnelly
Andy Donnelly

adonnelly@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Critical Theory, 20th Century American Fiction, Pedagogy, James Joyce

Isabel Duarte-Gray
Isabel Duarte-Gray

iduartegray@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th Century American

Dena Fehrenbacher
Dena Fehrenbacher

dfehrenbacher@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st c. US and transnational Anglophone literatures; US multi-ethnic literatures; literary theory and its history; novel theory; philosophy of aesthetics; the contemporary novel

Matthew Franks
Matthew Franks
Marissa Grunes
Marissa Grunes

mgrunes@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Lyric and poetics; visual arts.

Website

Amanda Gunn
Amanda Gunn

amandagunn@g.harvard.edu

Interests: African American Literature, Poetry

Ari Hoffman
Ari Hoffman

hoffman2@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th and 20th Century; Romanticism; Contemporary Jewish fiction.

Eliza Holmes
Eliza Holmes

eholmes@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th Century British

Rebecca Kastleman
Rebecca Kastleman

kastlem@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: British and American modernism; modern drama; theater and performance history; drama and philosophy; literature and religion; law and literature

Website

Holst Katsma
Holst Katsma

holstkatsma@g.harvard.edu

Interests: the novel, digital humanities, literary theory, Bakhtin

Anna Kelner
Anna Kelner

annakelner@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Middle English literature; medieval theology & religious culture; ethics; affect theory and the history of emotions; the histories of gender and sexuality

Geoffrey Kirsch
Geoffrey Kirsch

gkirsch@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th Century American; 19th Century British; American Modernism; Law and Literature; Ecocriticism

Thomas Leonard-Roy
Thomas Leonard-Roy

tleonardroy@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Restoration 18th C. British/ Enlightenment

Cecilia Mancuso
Cecilia Mancuso

ceciliamancuso@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Critical Theory, 21st Century

Sophia Mao
Sophia Mao

sophiamao@g.harvard.edu

Interests: British Modernism; Transnational Anglophone/Postcolonial Literature; Asian American Literature

Tess McNulty
Tess McNulty

tessmcnulty@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th Century British; 20th Century American; 21st Century/Contemporary; Criticism and Theory; Ethical and Political Philosophy

Kathryn Mogk
Kathryn Mogk

kmogk@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Medieval

Miles Osgood
Miles Osgood

mosgood@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th Century British, Modernism, Visual Arts

Website

Elizabeth Phillips
Elizabeth Phillips

ephillips@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Modern drama, drama history, performance studies, 19th and 20th Century Anglophone literature, phenomenology, affect theory, acting

Website

William Porter
William Porter

wporter@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Renaissance; Shakespeare; Travel Literature and Ethnography; Environmental Humanities; History of Science

Martin Quinn
Martin Quinn

mpquinn@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 18th century, Modern, and contemporary fiction; literature and philosophy; 20th century drama; music.

Adrienne Raphel
Adrienne Raphel
Josephine Reece
Josephine Reece

jreece@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Poetry

Nicholas Rinehart
Nicholas Rinehart

rinehart@g.harvard.edu

Interests: African American, African diasporic, American multi-ethnic literatures; comparative literature and world literature; race and ethnicity

Website

Hannah Rosefield
Hannah Rosefield

rosefield@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th C British, 20th C British and American

Adam Scheffler
Adam Scheffler

scheffl@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Poetry, 20th Century American, Creative Writing

Chris Schlegel
Chris Schlegel

cschlegel@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th C. American

Emily Silk
Emily Silk

esilk@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: American to 1900

Bailey Sincox
Bailey Sincox

bsincox@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Renaissance, Drama & Performance, History of the Book, Gender Studies, Comparative Literature

Chris Spaide
Chris Spaide

cspaide@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Poetry, esp. from 1900 to now; literature and music; contemporary fiction; comics; comedy and satire.

Stephen Squibb
Stephen Squibb

squibb@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Drama and Critical Theory

Rachel Stern
Rachel Stern

rachelstern@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 18th- and 19th-Century British and European literature, phenomenology and the novel, judgment in literature, intellectual history.

Website

Michelle Taylor
Michelle Taylor

michellealexistaylor@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th C. British, Modernism, Poetry

Julia Tejblum
Julia Tejblum

jtejblum@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Romanticism; poetry and poetics; intertextuality and influence; autobiography

Website

Teresa Trout
Teresa Trout

ttrout@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Modernism; Virginia Woolf; The Country House Novel

Charles Tyson
Charles Tyson

ctyson@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th C. British, 19th C. British/ Victorian, 20th C. American, 21st C. Contemporary, Criticism & Theory, Cognitive Psychology & Literature, Literature & Visual Arts

Sezen Unluonen
Sezen Unluonen

unluonen@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 19th C. British

Nicholas Utzig
Nicholas Utzig

nicholas_utzig@g.harvard.edu

Interests: Renaissance, Drama & Performance, History of the Book

Stella Wang
Stella Wang

wang73@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Late medieval literature.

Erica Weaver
Erica Weaver

eweaver@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Old English and Anglo-Latin literature; medieval poetry, poetics, aesthetics, and hermeneutics; vernacularity; manuscript culture; monastic reform.

Website

Elizabeth Weckhurst
Elizabeth Weckhurst

eweckhurst@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: English Renaissance poetry and poetics, especially Milton; rhetoric and philology; religion and literature; sound studies; the history of literary theory

Website

Michael M. Weinstein
Michael M. Weinstein

weinstein@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th century American literature; poetry; comparative modernism; Russian and Soviet literature; aesthetics; translation

Website

Porter White
Porter White

ewhite@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Victorian Prose; Medievalism; History of the Book

Annie Julia Wyman
Annie Julia Wyman

ajwyman@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: Comedy and laughter, 1850 to the present; the novel, lyric poetry and film; aesthetics; history; creative nonfiction and screenwriting.

Website

Carly Yingst
Carly Yingst

ceyingst@g.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th C. American, 20th C. British, 21st C./ Contemporary, Criticism & Theory, Poetry, History of the Book, Digital Humanities, Music & Literature, Literature & Visual Art, Media Studies

Janet Zong
Janet Zong

janetzong@fas.harvard.edu

Interests: 20th century and contemporary US literature and culture, transnational Anglophone novels, world literature.